Is it hard to be a(n) __________ in the United States?

So who’s being picked on in the Tragic Kingdom?  If you believe the Fox News and talk radio, there’s a “War on Christmas” and if you ask the left, there’s a “War on Women”. . .  While I have every faith that the wrong people in the world are making choices about women’s health (men, for example), it is the usage of the word “war” that bothers me. 

It makes me think an awful lot about the idea that people seem pretty put-on by everyone about everything.  Christians, according to Pew, comprise 79% of the population, but if the radio is any indications, it is impossible to be a Christian in America without the ever-present thumb of oppression pressing down on you.  That being said, it would seem, in my research on the subject, that atheists feel the same level of oppression from the religious majority. . . 

So, what is the source of this victim mentality?  I originally thought it was merely a ploy to increase revenue or was a function of religion itself, but in the light of all these “wars,” I have to think that there is something else behind the perception of oppression.  

Over the course of the year, I would like to re-examine the nature of the feeling of being oppressed.  I would love to have the feedback form all sides of this.  I would like to know why you feel that you are picked on, who picks on you, and what it has cost you to hold your beliefs. . . 

2 thoughts on “Is it hard to be a(n) __________ in the United States?

  1. I stopped watching the news, because it is no longer news and it has turned into entertainment. It is only a war, because the Christians think that it is a war. I don’t care if someone tell me Merry Christmas. I’m not offended.

    I’m not sure if I’m being picked on, being an athiest. Though I am tired of stupidity trying to tell other people how to lives. My beliefs are my own and I don’t try to shove them down other people’s throats with billboards (like a lot of what I see here in the Midwest).

    There is a lot more that I can talk of. Aboot being an anarcho-syndlcalist in the United States. Being an atheist in the United States. Being educated in the United States. I guess they are all hard.

  2. Stepping outside the realm of religion – It’s hard to be a homosexual in the United States. I get scrutinized from all sides, including fellow homosexuals. I’m either being told I’m going to Hell because something in a book says so or I’m being told I’m not supportive enough because I didn’t sign this petition or contribute my life savings for this cause.

    I have to fight the anxiety to use a public restroom, and then get strange, questioning looks when I do enter the women’s bathrooms. I pray for places with unisex restrooms or single stall bathrooms. Makes things far less awkward for me.

    I have to fend off bigoted and homophobic remarks while at the bar (unless it’s a gay bar) from drunken assholes who feel it’s their duty to tell me that I’m a sexual deviant and then ask if they can watch. I have to deflect the dirty looks from the egotistical heterosexual women who think their so hot that everyone (including lesbians) want them.

    I have to worry about job interviews, not because of what I’ll say, but because of how I dress. People are not quick to hire a lesbian who goes to a job interview in a dress shirt and tie. Then I have to worry if I’ll be fired from a job, if I happen to get hired, not because of poor job performance, but because I made someone feel uncomfortable because my cubical happens to be within 50 feet of theirs.

    The attacks come from all sides. I don’t take the time to look at my aggressor and say, “Oh, you must be a Christian” or “Gee, I bet you watch Duck Dynasty”. Of course, those thoughts occur in hindsight…but I am one of the few who truly do my best not to judge others. Not because of some belief in a religion, but because at core, we are all equal.

    I’ve lost family and friends over who I am. It had become a taboo subject in my family, something we never discussed. I watched my sister and cousins bring over their girlfriends or boyfriends, but wasn’t allowed to bring the woman I was dating. I’ve lost jobs because of perceived reality and assumptions. My safety and well-being have been threatened because of who I am.

    I’ve been picked on my entire life for things that have always been out of my control. But don’t you dare call me a victim. All the shit I’ve had to shovel through in my life has made me stronger, smarter, and far more observant than most. If I had the opportunity to go back…I’d do it the same way time and time again. It took a long time for me to be able to look in the mirror and not cringe at the person looking back. I wouldn’t change that for the world.

Leave a Reply

